Dimensions

Expectation is trying to control a future that will always elude us.

It is helpful to have goals. It is important to have things we would like to work on in our lives. I often have a goal I am working towards. For me it is a specific project or task that I would like to accomplish. It is something that is an appropriate building block from where you are to the next step. I then make a plan for achieving that goal and that plan is realistic and flexible.

We are always in a state of growth. There are times we may go into hibernation or stay static in one area while we grow in another. However, I like to stop often and take stock. If I am frustrated, then where can I shift my energy to renew my spirit. Sometimes I am ready to shift focus from one area of my dimensions to another. Sometimes I have mastered a level of work and am looking for new challenges. What is your next step? What excites you?

But goals are very different from expectations. Goals are promises to ourselves; expectations often refers to what we think will happen outside of ourselves. This is a way in which we try to exert control over the future and others. This is what leads to frustration.

If you find yourself frustrated in a situation, think back what did you think that situation was going to be like? Was this expectation based on past experience? What can you do going forward to promote the outcome you would like? Is it worth your time? If not, let go of that expectation and accept what is. If it is worth the effort for your future, then make a goal.

18 November 2019

Published by

tinabujno

Educator, Advocate I value my family I was born into, my chosen family, great friends and a supportive community. I am grateful to stay curious and open to my purpose and passions. I hope everyone can find that for themselves. These are things that make us truly content with our lives.

Leave a comment